Snow Patrol news & community since 2008.

Digital Spy: Gary Lightbody Ready To Have Children

Gary Lightbody has revealed that he plans to settle down and raise a family. The Snow Patrol frontman explained that he was concerned about the amount of close friends and family who had children while he remains single.

“Is everyone’s state of being not centred around love, loss and longing?” he told the Daily Record. “In my case, it’s still very much so. I’m a single man. I’m 35. Everybody that I know including my sister is having children.

“As much as I adore my niece, my godchildren and the children those around me are having, I want kids of my own. Thank God I’m calming down because I wouldn’t want to be in one of those bands who disappears up his own a**ehole.”

He also explained that he feels he has matured over the years since the band’s formation in the mid-1990s.

“We started in ’94. The first day of university I formed the band with Mark McClelland. I slept too late and didn’t go to enough classes and would go to rehearsals instead of tutorials.

“How I passed my exams, I have no idea. Then in 2004 we reissued Final Straw off the back of ‘Run’ being on daytime radio. That’s when it all took off.

“I’d love to say as the years have passed I’ve become more mature. There is also the element of the kid still in there because I never had a proper job. I’m prone to bouts of lunacy still, but much less so than at previous times in my life.

“I have calmed down a whole heap actually, not drinking anywhere near as much – just the odd night now and again – and staying well away from drugs.”

Lightbody added that he has stopped drinking alcohol while touring with Snow Patrol, saying: “That’s another rule I have put on myself. I don’t drink if I am touring because I feel awful going into a show with a hangover.

“It takes a long time during a gig to get into it. If you don’t land on both feet giving it your all on the first song you’re not giving people their money’s worth and that is on me.

“I feel a responsibility. I have done for years, but it’s not fair for the people who have paid in if I’m looking like I’m about to throw up so I just knocked it on the head.”

Snow Patrol kicked off their UK tour last week, which sees them perform on 16 dates including a gig at the O2 Arena on February 12.

Read the article at digitalspy.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

