Snow Patrol news & community since 2008. Lightbody Readies New Tired Pony Album

tp12Tired Pony, the supergroup of Snow Patrol singer Gary Lightbody and REM guitarist Peter Buck, will release their new album, The Ghost of the Mountain, next month.

Released in Ireland on Friday August 16 on Fiction Records, The Ghost of the Mountain is the follow-up to 2010’s The Place We Ran From and sees Lightbody and Buck reunited with singer-songwriter Iain Archer, Belle & Sebastian drummer Richard Colburn, singer-songwriter Scott McCaughey (Young Fresh Fellows, The Minus 5, REM), Snow Patrol guitar tech Troy Stewart and producer and multi-instrumentalist Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee.

The album also features guest vocals from Bronagh Gallagher, Kim Topper and Minnie Driver on the closing track, Your Way Is the Way Home.

“We had so much fun doing the first one and I had so much more to say on the characters,” said Lightbody. “The record makes you think one thing and feel another.”

“We were trying to soak up the Topanga Canyon folk vibe but also bring the discordant Krautrock and weird synth-pop sound into it too,” said Buck.

The Ghost of the Mountain is released in the UK and Europe on August 19 and in North America on October 1.

Go here to read the article on RTE’s website.

Categorised in: Articles, The Ghost Of The Mountain, Tired Pony

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s